Hannity & Colmes interview

Gov. Mike Huckabee appeared on Hannity & Colmes this evening, for almost 15 minutes of airtime. It was a great interview, where Mike was able to address the “immigration” problem (it’s academic scholarships for merit students who had to become citizens to get the scholarships), and ethics concerns, the tax-hike accusations, and the Wayne Dumond case. It was a great interview. Part 1 and Part 2 are available on YouTube. The best part of the interview was at the end, though. It’s why Mike is resonating with so many people. The transcript appears below:

Sean Hannity: One of the things that has really stood out, I think, in your campaign, I think that people have noticed that you have a pretty good since of humor. I mentioned that both Mitt Romney and Fred Thompson attacked you. You’ve had some pretty good one-liners about Hillary. You took a shot at Mitt Romney. You said I guess Romney would rather keep people out of college so that they can keep on working on his lawns, since he had illegals there.

Is that a part of your strategy to always sorta keep that sense of humor during this campaign?

Mike Huckabee: Well, it’s just who I am. You know, I take the issues very seriously, Sean. But I don’t take myself that seriously. I think one of the problems in politics people tend to think it’s all about them. It needs to be about the issues and about the people we serve. We don’t get elected so people can serve us. I think when we forget that, and we think it’s about us, we’re in trouble and our country’s in trouble.

SH: I think everybody, if they had that humility, I think it would serve the country well. Governor, good to see you. Thanks for being with us. Appreciate your time.

MH: My pleasure. Thanks to both of you.

And in other news, here’s a fabulous picture of Mike Huckabee playing Guitar Hero with a young boy. How great is that?? Can you see other politicians doing that?

Leave a Reply

