A word from Kansas (and vertical) politics

I just found out Kansas’ governor, Kathleen Sebelius (D), has been selected to give the Democrat response to the President’s State of the Union address.

As this blog has been solely focused on Mike Huckabee, I thought I’d share some thoughts about how I view this selection, in light of Mike’s vertical politics focus.

In the coming days, the bloody mess that is Kansas politics is going to explode, as most people are going to see this as an audition for Gov. Sebelius’ rise to the national stage. I beg to differ (which comes as a surprise to even me: I didn’t vote for the woman either time!) (although it is probably an audition, just the same).

Maybe even the Democrat Party leaders are seeing this as an audition, but I see it as an opportunity, especially with the Kansas governor’s office staff writing the speech, not Washington. I don’t see eye-to-eye with Gov. Sebelius on certain policies, but I think she’s done the best job she can with a legislature and political parties that all need to GROW up.

Kansas faces some serious problems, not to mention recovery from a historic blizzard (Jan. ’07); an F-5 tornado that obliterated an entire town (May ’07); catastrophic floods (May ’07; June ’07); and an historic ice storm (Dec. ’07) (forgive me if I missed a weather event; Kansas got the lion’s share last year, it seems like).

Gov. Sebelius is trying to get things done for her state in a bipartisan manner, for the future of our state. I may not agree with some of her policies, but I have to applaud the honor that she — and all Kansans have received today.

“To meet those challenges, the American people expect their leaders to resolve their differences and put partisanship on the back burner,” she said.

That is what vertical politics is all about. Not seeing the political world in black/white, us/them, left/right, Democrat/Republican. But actually looking past the labels. And getting things done in government!

In reality, though, I know that no one else in Kansas will understand the words “vertical politics.” So in true cynicism, let the political parties begin to howl accusations across the prairie.

One Response to A word from Kansas (and vertical) politics

  1. bliggi.com says:

    A word from Kansas (and vertical) politics

    A word from Kansas (and vertical) politics,I just found out Kansas’ governor, Kathleen Sebelius (D), has been selected to give the Democrat response to the President’s State of the Union address.As this blog has been solely focused on Mike Huckabee, …

Leave a Reply

