Huckabee Concedes, Gracefully

This was a tough day for me. I knew when I woke up this morning that Huckabee’s chances were slim, but I held out hope for a miracle. Unfortunately, the miracle did not happen. Mike Huckabee, former governor of Arkansas, conceded the race to John McCain a few moments ago.

I listened to his concession speech and I was again struck with the humility the man has. Mike Huckabee understood that it was not the support of the Republican establishment, gobs of money, and the backing of the talking heads that got him to March 4, 2008. His speech was basically a long thank you to his supporters and family. The speech was the most graceful and heartfelt concession speech I have ever heard and he deserves credit for the way he conducted himself.

I must confess that as I watched the speech I could not help but feel some anger at the Republican establishment. They decided that John McCain would be the nominee and then pushed him upon the American people as the only choice. McCain is guilty of accepting that support and refusing to acknowledge that Americans did have a choice in his refusal to debate Huckabee. Sure, it might have been a smart political move for McCain not to debate, but it was not the right choice. The Republican establishment decided long ago that Huckabee would never be the nominee and they succeeded in shutting him out.

Personally, I am very grateful for Mike Huckabee. I had never before contributed to a political campaign. I had never before attended political rallies. Mike Huckabee motivated me to be more involved in this election than I ever have before. He was pro-life and pro-family. He supported my 2nd Amendment rights. He had an immigration plan that made sense. He supported strengthening and building up the military. He supported a complete overhaul of the tax system through the FairTax. He had the freshest ideas and the best approach to the Presidency of any of the candidates.

Today the American people decided that John McCain was the best man for the job. I strongly disagree.

Where does this leave me? I will probably mope around for a few days. I guarantee I will be a lot more apathetic about this election because of John McCain’s liberal tendencies. It leaves me right back where I was after the election in ’06: wishing for a third party that was not so steeped in the political system that it actually cared about doing what is best for the people of America and not just doing what is best for the Republican establishment.

The moping will now commence.

3 Responses to Huckabee Concedes, Gracefully

  1. matthewjay says:

    You can still make your vote count for conservative values by writing in Huckabee in November. I’m tired of voting for the lesser of two evils, or voting for one candidate just to be voting against someone else. Therefore, I will be voting *for* Mike in November, as in my vote of approval. And I’ll be proud to do it.

  2. Heather says:

    The tears are still commencing for me. You wrote what I could not. I tried. Maybe I’ll be able to add my own two cents here in the coming days. I doubt it. But to anyone still reading this blog, it’s not going away. It may lie dormant for awhile while the authors mope, cry, reflect, whatever, but we’ll be back.

  3. […] soldier, and sad Huckabee supporter — mourns the end of Huckabee’s campaign and credits it with getting him politically involved for the first time: I listened to his concession speech and I […]

Leave a Reply

